Why can't all children swim?

Going to school, playing hide and seek, never going hungry and receiving medical care when you're sick: this should really be absolutely normal. But for many children in the world, this isn't true. The UN Convention on the Rights of the Child identified education, health and free time as universal rights. Children have the right to demand these – and the state and society are obliged to grant them. The Convention on the Rights of the Child is 30 years old this year. Together with you, we want to celebrate past achievements and formulate future demands.

Thirty years of child rights: a reason for celebration. Or maybe not? Because although the Convention on the Rights of the Child was signed several years ago, many children still don't have the opportunity to go to school, freely express their opinion or expect protection against discrimination.

Focus on child rights

Child rights are a focal topic of our work. In all 13 of our project countries, we work to ensure that children know their rights and that these rights are fulfilled by the state and society. In Tanzania, for example, we train guidance counsellors to be there for children wanting to talk about their problems. Corporal punishment is still widespread there, even though this is a clear breach of the right of children to be protected against abuse.

In Moldova, we focus, among other things, on children with special educational needs and grant them the right to development. In South-East Asia, we promote mother-tongue education to guarantee children's right to culture. And in many countries in East Africa and South-East Europe, we give children a voice and safeguard their right to express their opinion freely: they can participate and have a say in school parliaments. We also raise awareness of child rights among teachers and parents. And in Switzerland, many children don't know that they have rights. We want to change this.

Right to education at the heart of our work

The right to education is very important to us. It's a central component of all our projects. Because when all children, regardless of their origin, status and gender, have the opportunity to receive high-quality education, we will be much closer to our goal of creating a fairer and more peaceful world.

Disadvantaged children and youths need future perspectives and hope.

And so we're celebrating child rights this year, while at the same time pointing out that there's still a long way to go until all children have the same rights.

warum_koennen_nicht_alle_kinder_schwimmen_-_team_justitia_-_justitia_on_tour_-_stiftung_kinderdorf_pestalozzi

Why can't all children swim?

Many children still don't have the right to play, enjoy free time and relax. We want to change this.

Art. 31: Right of the child to rest and leisure

warum_duerfen_nicht_alle_kinder_zur_schule_gehen_-_team_justitia_-_justitia_on_tour_-_stiftung_kinderdorf_pestalozzi

Why can't all children go to school?

Many children still don't have the right to education. We want to change this.

Art. 28: Right to education

warum_duerfen_nicht_alle_kinder_sagen_was_sie_denken_-_team_justitia_-_justitia_on_tour_-_stiftung_kinderdorf_pestalozzi

Why can't all children say what they think?

Many children still don't have the right to freely express their opinion. We want to change this.

Art. 12: Right to freedom of expression

Roadshow #teamjustitia: Justitia on the road in Switzerland

justitia_on_tour_-_team_justitia_-_kinderrechte_-_stiftung_kinderdorf_pestalozzi

To celebrate the birthday of child rights and at the same time point out that there's still much to do, we will be travelling through Switzerland with our figurehead Lady Justice and will visit five Swiss cities. Meet us in St. Gallen, Lucerne, Zurich, Basel and Bern and set a signal for the protection of child rights.

At our roadshow, you will find out more about our global engagement and learn about the projects that we run in 13 countries to ensure that children and youths can grow up in a fairer and more peaceful world.

In addition to gaining fascinating insights, you can have a photo taken with the small Justitia in the photo booth or turn the wheel of fortune. We look forward to meeting many visitors, large and small.

We will be here

You can find us at the following places from 10 am to 5 pm:

24 August: St.Gallen, Marktplatz

28 September: Lucerne, Bahnhofplatz Torbogen

12 October: Zurich, Hirschenplatz

16 November: Basel, Barfüsserplatz

20 November: Bern, Bundesplatz

If you wish to keep an eye on Justitia's travels, you can follow us on Instagram or regularly visit the #teamjustitia hashtag.

Child Rights Day on 20 November

International Child Rights Day is on 20 November, which is the perfect time for a birthday celebration at the Bundesplatz. Together with Pro Juventute, Kinderschutz Schweiz and the UNICEF Committee for Switzerland and Liechtenstein, we will celebrate 30 years of child rights and the successes that have been achieved during this time.

We will also demonstrate why the work to secure these rights is not finished yet, neither in Switzerland nor in the rest of the world. The federal capital is also the final destination of our roadshow through Switzerland and our Justitia will be there with us.

Programme

In the morning, school classes from everywhere in Switzerland can join us for a fascinating obstacle course focusing on child rights. The learners will also be able to go on a guided tour of the Parliament Building.

The afternoon will be dedicated to the celebration festivities. Join us and our musical guests for a wonderful party with a great vibe. The «Open Mic» will give children and youths the opportunity to voice their own concerns, and there will be plenty to eat and drink. We're looking forward to an unforgettable celebration of child rights.

All of you are warmly invited to the child rights birthday party. More information and a detailed programme will soon be available at www.30jahrekinderrechte.ch.

Do you want to bring your school class to take part in the child rights obstacle course or the guided tour of the Parliament Building? Don't wait, register today.

We look forward to celebrating the birthday of child rights in style with you.

Donate

Yes, I would like to make a donation to the most urgent projects.

Yes, I would like to make a donation to the Children's Village.

Yes, I would like to make a donation to Central America.

Yes, I would like to make a donation to East Africa.

Yes, I would like to make a donation to South-East Asia.

Yes, I would like to make a donation to South-East Europe.

Yes, I would like to become a member of the circle of friends.

Thank you for your donation

Tell your friends about the Children's Village.

Share

Warum können nicht alle Kinder schwimmen?

Zur Schule gehen, Versteckis spielen dürfen, keinen Hunger leiden und gepflegt werden, wenn man krank ist: Das alles sollte eigentlich selbstverständlich sein. Doch für viele Kinder weltweit ist es das nicht. Dabei sind Bildung, Gesundheit oder Freizeit in der Kinderrechtskonvention der Vereinten Nationen als universelle Rechte festgehalten. Kinder haben das Recht, sie einzufordern – der Staat und die Gesellschaft die Pflicht, sie zu erfüllen. Dieses Jahr wird die Kinderrechtskonvention 30 Jahre alt. Gemeinsam mit Ihnen feiern wir das Erreichte und stellen Forderungen für die Zukunft.

30 Jahre Kinderrechte, ein Grund zu feiern. Oder doch nicht? Denn obwohl die Unterzeichnung der Kinderrechtskonvention bereits einige Jahre her ist, haben noch lange nicht alle Kinder die Möglichkeit, zur Schule zu gehen, ihre Meinung frei zu äussern oder erhalten Schutz vor Diskriminierung.

Kinderrechte im Fokus

Kinderrechte sind ein Schwerpunktthema unserer Arbeit. In allen unseren 13 Projektländern arbeiten wir darauf hin, dass Kinder ihre Rechte kennen und diese von Staat und Gesellschaft eingehalten werden. In Tansania bilden wir beispielsweise Vertrauenslehrerinnen und -lehrer aus, denen die Kinder sich anvertrauen können. Körperliche Bestrafung ist dort noch weit verbreitet, verstösst aber klar gegen das Recht auf Schutz vor Misshandlung.

In Moldawien setzen wir unter anderem einen Fokus auf Kinder mit besonderem Bildungsbedarf und gewähren ihnen das Recht auf Förderung. In Südostasien setzen wir uns für einen Unterricht basierend auf der Muttersprache ein, um das Recht auf Kultur zu gewähren. Und in zahlreichen Projekten in Ostafrika und Südosteuropa geben wir Kindern eine Stimme und gewähren ihnen ihr Recht auf freie Meinungsäusserung: In Schulräten und Schulparlamenten können sie sich einbringen und mitentscheiden. Ausserdem sensibilisieren wir Lehrpersonen und Eltern zum Thema Kinderrechte. Und in der Schweiz wissen viele Kinder nicht, dass sie Rechte haben. Das wollen wir ändern.

Recht auf Bildung als Kern der Arbeit

Besonders am Herzen liegt uns aber natürlich das Recht auf Bildung. Es ist ein zentraler Bestandteil all unserer Projekte. Denn nur wenn alle Kinder unabhängig von ihrer Herkunft, ihrem Status und ihrem Geschlecht die Chance auf eine qualitative Bildung erhalten, sind wir unserem Ziel einer gerechteren und friedlicheren Welt einen grossen Schritt näher.

Es braucht Zukunftsperspektiven für Benachteiligte und Hoffnung für Kinder und Jugendliche.

Und so feiern wir dieses Jahr die Kinderrechte und zeigen gleichzeitig auf, dass es noch ein weiter Weg ist, bis alle Kinder die gleichen Rechte haben.

warum_koennen_nicht_alle_kinder_schwimmen_-_team_justitia_-_justitia_on_tour_-_stiftung_kinderdorf_pestalozzi

Warum können nicht alle Kinder schwimmen?

Viele Kinder auf dieser Welt haben keine Chance auf Spiel und Freizeit. Gemeinsam können wir das ändern.

Art. 31: Recht auf Spiel und Freizeit

warum_duerfen_nicht_alle_kinder_zur_schule_gehen_-_team_justitia_-_justitia_on_tour_-_stiftung_kinderdorf_pestalozzi

Warum dürfen nicht alle Kinder zur Schule gehen?

Viele Kinder auf dieser Welt haben keine Chance auf Bildung. Gemeinsam können wir das ändern.

Art. 28: Recht auf eine gute Schulbildung

warum_duerfen_nicht_alle_kinder_sagen_was_sie_denken_-_team_justitia_-_justitia_on_tour_-_stiftung_kinderdorf_pestalozzi

Warum dürfen nicht alle Kinder sagen, was sie denken?

Viele Kinder auf dieser Welt haben keine Chance auf Meinungsfreiheit. Gemeinsam können wir das ändern.

Art. 12: Recht auf freie Meinungsäusserung

Roadshow #teamjustitia: Justitia unterwegs in der Schweiz

justitia_on_tour_-_team_justitia_-_kinderrechte_-_stiftung_kinderdorf_pestalozzi

Um den Geburtstag der Kinderrechte zu feiern und gleichzeitig darauf aufmerksam zu machen, dass es noch viel zu tun gibt, sind wir von August bis November mit unserer Galionsfigur Justitia in der Schweiz unterwegs und besuchen fünf Schweizer Städte. Treffen Sie uns in St.Gallen, Luzern, Zürich, Basel und Bern und setzen Sie ein Zeichen für die Einhaltung der Kinderrechte.

An unserer Roadshow erfahren Sie mehr über unser weltweites Engagement und lernen unsere Projekte kennen, mit denen wir in 13 Ländern dafür sorgen, dass die Kinder und Jugendliche in einer gerechteren und friedlicheren Welt aufwachsen können.

Neben spannenden Einblicken können Sie sich zusammen mit der lebensgrossen Justitia ablichten lassen oder am Glücksrad drehen. Wir freuen uns auf zahlreiche kleine und grosse Besucherinnen und Besucher.

Hier machen wir Halt

Jeweils von 10 bis 17 Uhr treffen Sie uns an folgenden Orten:

24. August: St.Gallen, Marktplatz

28. September: Luzern, Bahnhofplatz Torbogen

12. Oktober: Zürich, Hirschenplatz

16. November: Basel, Theaterplatz

20. November: Bern, Bundesplatz als Teil der grossen Kinderrechtsfeier

Wer die Reise unserer Justitia verfolgen will, folgt uns am besten auf Instagram oder schaut sich den Hashtag #teamjustitia regelmässig an.

Tag der Kinderrechte am 20. November

Am 20. November ist Internationaler Tag der Kinderrechte und damit der perfekte Zeitpunkt für eine Geburtstagsfeier auf dem Bundesplatz. Gemeinsam mit Pro Juventute, Kinderschutz Schweiz und dem Komitee der UNICEF Schweiz und Liechtenstein feiern wir 30 Jahre Kinderrechte und die Erfolge, die in dieser Zeit erreicht wurden.

Wir zeigen aber auch auf, warum die Arbeit zur Sicherung dieser Rechte noch nicht abgeschlossen ist, weder in der Schweiz noch weltweit. Die Bundesstadt ist zugleich die letzte Destination unserer Roadshow durch die Schweiz und natürlich wird auch unsere Justitia mit vor Ort sein.

Programm

Vormittag

Am Vormittag findet ein spannender, auf die Kinder und Jugendlichen zugeschnittener Postenlauf zum Thema Kinderrechte durch die Stadt Bern statt. Vielleicht finden ja auch Sie einen der Posten?

Nachmittag

Am Nachmittag wird gefeiert und zwar richtig. Wir freuen uns, wenn Sie Teil unseres Programmes sind.

12.10 Konzert La Nefera Teil 1

12.30 Begrüssung durch das Projektteam 30 Jahre Kinderrechte

12.40 Konzert La Nefera Teil 2

13.00 Ansprache von Franziska Teuscher, Gemeinderätin der Stadt Bern

13.10 Open Mic: Kinder ergreifen das Wort und platzieren ihre Wünsche für die Zukunft unserer Welt

13.40 Bundesrat Alain Berset nimmt die Forderungen, Wünsche, Sorgen und Anliegen der Kinder entgegen und wird von Kindern zu den Kinderrechten interviewt

14.10 Konzert Nemo

14.45 Gemeinsames Singen des Kinderrechtssongs

15.00 Ende des Anlasses

Ermöglichen Sie Kindern eine Zukunft mit mehr Gerechtigkeit

Bereits ein kleiner Beitrag kann viel verändern. Spenden Sie jetzt!

Klicken Sie hier um den Spendenprozess fortzuführen.

Um den Prozess neu zu starten, müssen Sie die Seite neu laden.

kinderrecht_meinungsfreiheit_-_team_justitia_-_kinderrechte_-_stiftung_kinderdorf_pestalozzi

Fachartikel zum Thema